Lola and the Boy Next Door- by Stephanie Perkins

lola-boy-next-door

Lola and the Boy Next Door- by Stephanie Perkins

Rating: 3/10

Publication: September 29, 2011

Recommendation: Ugh. Wanted to gouge my eyes out. No.

My Reading Method: READS downloadable library book (Thanks Madisonville Public Library!)

From Goodreads:

Lola Nolan is a budding costume designer, and for her, the more outrageous, sparkly, and fun the outfit, the better. And everything is pretty perfect in her life (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the negihborhood. When Cricket, a gifted inventor, steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

***WARNING-MY REVIEWS OFTEN CONTAIN SPOILERS! READ AT YOUR OWN RISK!!***

Oh hell, I was NOT a fan of this book. Sorry to break your heart if you’re a SP megafan, but there it is. I enjoyed Anna and the French Kiss, even though it was a little low on substance and a little high on teen drama for my taste, but I had fun with it. So, naturally, I wanted to proceed with the series. (I ended up reading all three books in one weekend. They’re very easy and quick.)

Top 5 Thoughts of/ while reading Lola and the Boy Next Door:

  1. Lola is waaaaay too dramatic for my taste. I absolutely could not relate to her. She frequently had meltdown-level responses to events she should have been prepared for. She was immature and frequently complained about the over-protectiveness of her two dads (ok, I’ll admit, the family dynamic was very well written) while continuing to faint, storm out, sneak around, lie, and be an overall baby about everything. She annoyed me.
  2. Who the hell names their kid Cricket? Ugh. It is the WORST, especially because he’s written as a super hipster. I was rolling my eyes so hard.
  3. I loved Anna and Etinne in Anna and the French Kiss, and was super happy to see a little glimpse of them in this book; however, I no longer liked them. Suddenly, they’re a clingy couple that doesn’t know how friendships work. Seriously, if one of my friends told me something and didn’t want it repeated, I’m a strong enough person (and value the friendship enough) to not go and blab about it to my boyfriend. Bad friend, Anna, you’re a bad friend. Boo.
  4. I mentioned before that I enjoyed the family dynamic, and that is true. The dads, birth mom, and Lola all seemed like a real unit. I wanted to read more about their relationships and less about moody Lola.
  5. Lola only wears the same outfit once. Can I say wasteful? As soon as I read that I had to go back and make sure I got it right. This was such a first world problem I couldn’t even take it seriously. I get the fact that she probably re-sews or remakes some of the clothes but to me she sounded like a spoiled brat. Who doesn’t wear the same outfit twice? And who has enough clothes to get the number of combos needed in a year? Ridiculous.

Overall: I hated Lola too much to focus on much else. I would have preferred to read from Cricket’s (gag) point of view. Although, I could never figure out why he liked her to begin with.

Leave a Reply

